( ( p o o r l y d r a w n ) )



<< - - back � archive � next - - >>

july 16 '01

So I'm sitting at the customer service desk on Tuesday, and these two kids come racing down the stairs and out the door of the mall with these necklaces in their hands, and no bags. I have never seen anyone run so fast outside of the Olympics. Using my best judgement, I call security and told them what I'd seen--not calling them shoplifters, but simply two boys running very fast with merchandise and no bags. The lady from the jewelry store next to the desk comes to the same conclusion I did, and gives me additional information to pass along to the guards.

Twenty minutes later, a lady comes in and starts screaming at me. It turns out the boys had receipts. However, since I called security without having proof that they were lifting (they ran so fast there was no way I could have checked for receipts), I must have done it because they were black. Without letting me defend myself, she stiffly walks away, shouting over her shoulder that she'll be putting in a call to my supervisor.

One of the guards has to relieve me for a few minutes so I can go to the bathroom because my dogged attempts not to cry are failing miserably.

I can handle almost anything a customer can say to me, but don't call me a bigot.




View My Slambook! | Sign My Slambook!



original background by explodingdog

diaryland

designed by celerysticks.diaryland.com