( ( p o o r l y d r a w n ) )



<< - - back � archive � next - - >>

Oct 23 '00

I'm afraid of getting older. I'm not anxious to join the ranks of the bitter and disillusioned, the chronic, the people busy dying instead of being born... Life centers, for me, around a thirst for new experiences, new passions, new purposes and endeavors; finishing school and devoting the remainder of my life to a stagnant profession, finishing the "coming of age" process and hitting the deceleration point of what's thus far been a constant process of maturation--it frightens the hell out of me.

I used to hate when guys rudely honk when I'm walking down the street, but now I dread the day it stops happening. I dread the day coffee shops, people-watching on the city bus, and just the pure feeling of independence felt walking downtown alone lose their appeal.

Perhaps my biggest fear is that I will get so wrapped up in fearing the loss of my youth that I'll forget to max out its possibilities; that at 30 I'll turn around and realize that there's nothing adult left for me to do.


View My Slambook! | Sign My Slambook!



original background by explodingdog

diaryland

designed by celerysticks.diaryland.com